“Pachinko 2,” Headlined by Yoon Yuh Jung, Kim Min Ha, and Lee Min Ho, To Be Released in August

Pachinko Season 2 has confirmed its release date for August 23, unveiling the first stills and main title sequence.

The series, which debuted in March 2022, tells a sweeping story that begins with forbidden love and spans Korea, Japan, and the United States. It chronicles the enduring saga of a Korean immigrant family forced to leave their homeland during a time of oppression, covering four generations through themes of war and peace, love and separation, victory and judgment.

Join Our Telegram Channel

Returning from Season 1 are key actors Youn Yuh Jung, who anchored the drama, Lee Min Ho, who showcased his acting versatility, and Kim Min Ha, who made a remarkable impression as a newcomer. Season 2 will also introduce Kim Sung Gyu, known for his roles in Noryang: Deadly Sea and Hansan: Rising Dragon. Additional returning cast members include Jinha, Jung Eun Chae, Anna Saway, Han Jun-woo, and Arai Soji.

The series is helmed by Soo Hugh, who leads the planning and writing, along with executive producers Michael Ellenberg and Lindsey Springer of Media Res, and Teresa Kang of Blue Marble Pictures. Directors Rian Welham, Jin Jun-rim, and Sang-il Lee are also on board. Like its predecessor, Season 2 will be produced in Korean, Japanese, and English.

Pachinko Season 2 will feature eight episodes, with the first episode premiering on August 23. Subsequent episodes will be released weekly on Apple TV+ until October 11.

Season 1 of Pachinko, which resonates with universal themes such as family, love, triumph, destiny, and resilience, spanned a grand narrative from Korea to Japan and the United States in the early 1900s. It poignantly highlighted the lives of Kim Min-ha as a young sage and Youn Yeo-jeong as an older sage, each navigating their own paths in unfamiliar lands.

Season 1’s impact was recognized with the Critics Choice Award for Best Foreign Language Drama and the Gotham Award for Best Breakthrough Series – 40+ Minutes.